Balkan Academic Scheme for the Internationalisation of Learning together with EU Universities BASILEUS

Projet en cours

Programme concerné :

Programme Erasmus Mundus

Descriptif du projet :


The objective of the Basileus project is to promote mobility for students and staff between the Western Balkan countries and the EU ; to enhance the understanding and the international cooperation between higher education institutions in both regions ; to pave the way to international recognition of studies and qualifications and to enhance the role of the higher education sector by exchanging knowledge, skills and expertise. The Basileus project strives to build structured long-term cooperation between all partners, resulting I a sustainable network. It offers the opportunity to boost the exchange of know-how for curricula development, university-enterprise cooperation, international relations and university management.



The EMA2 programme is a cooperation and mobility scheme in the area of higher education.

The European Commission has launched this initiative to foster cooperation between higher education institutions from outside the EU with EU universities. It aims to boost exchanges of students, researchers and academic staff and to support mobility, in particular from non-EU countries to EU member states. There are different lots for different regions in the world and for each of them consortia have been formed. Students, researchers and staff from the area can apply to the selected consortium for scholarships.



EU Universities
›› Ghent University, Belgium – coordinator
›› Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski, Bulgaria
›› University of Zagreb, Croatia
›› University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France
›› University of Heidelberg, Germany
›› Alexander Technological Educational Institution
of Thessaloniki, Greece
›› University of Rome La Sapienza, Italy
›› University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
›› University of Deusto, Spain
›› Lund University, Sweden
Western Balkan Universities
›› University of Novi Sad, Serbia – joint coordinator
›› University of Tirana, Albania
›› University of Sarajevo, Bosnia & Herzegovina
›› South East European University Tetovo
(FYRO) Macedonia
›› Ss. Cyril and Methodius University Skopje,
(FYRO) Macedonia
›› University St. Kliment Ohridski Bitola,
(FYRO) Madedonia
›› University of Prishtina, Kosovo
›› University of Montenegro, Montenegro
›› University of Belgrade, Serbia
›› University of Kragujevac, Serbia
Associated partners
›› Polytechnic University of Tirana, Albania
›› University of Shkodra, Albania
›› King Baudouin Foundation, Belgium
›› University of Tuzla, Bosnia & Herzegovina
›› Roma Virtual Network, Israel
›› University in Mitrovica, Kosovo*
›› SPARK, Netherlands
›› University of Niš, Serbia

* Kosovo : as defined under UNSCR 1244/99